Claude Giroux needed to count to ten (in French) before throwing this hit in last night’s loss to New Jersey:
What do you think – Shanabanned? I would not be surprised. Zubris has long since passed the puck and G seems to wait until after the shoulder hit is available, then go straight for his face. Claude took a penalty for “head contact” on the play – it’s part of the “Illegal Hit to the Head” rule [link], I’ve just never heard it called that. Zubris was not injured and had 2 goals on the night (GWG and an empty-netter).
The Flyers are down 3-1 in the series vs. New Jersey. Losing Giroux for game 5… yikes. We’ll see what Principal Shanny has to say tomorrow. Can he suspend this face that turns even the best of the rest of us into idiots with traitorous tendencies?claude giroux, philadelphia flyers